“Shell we talk?” with Various & Gould

Thursday 30.9.2021
Beginning: 18.00

Price 0 €

On September 30th, 2021 we will meet in the exhibition “Unveiled. Berlin and its monuments” Gould from Various & Gould Berlin. Gould will present the project “Monumental Shadows – Rethinking Colonial Heritage”, which was created in collaboration with Colonial Neighbors (SAVVY Contemporary).

“Monumental Shadows – Rethinking Colonial Heritage” is an artistic examination of colonial history and the current culture of remembrance in Germany. The project is a collaboration between Various & Gould and Colonial Neighbors (SAVVY Contemporary) It will be carried out with several artists from August to the end of October 2021 in Berlin. Using urban interventions and performances e.g. at the Berlin Bismarck monument, “Monumental Shadows” questions the traces and effects of colonialism to this day.

The starting point is the experience that German colonialism is often played down in public discourse. It is therefore in the shadow of many people and at the same time casts a long shadow over the lives of many.

The Berlin based artists Various & Gould have been working together as a duo since 2005. In 2010 both graduated from the Berlin-Weißensee School of Art (KHB). Various & Gould are cross-border commuters in various fields. The basis for their collaboration are graphic prints, paper collages and art in public spaces. Mostly in a playful way, they tackle socially relevant issues.

In relation to the realization of this participatory project in public space, we want to talk about intentions, problems and experiences. Together with our moderator Laura Seidel, we would like to discuss the topic of monument falls in our exhibition rooms. Against the background of adding new monuments to our permanent exhibition, we would also like to revisit the debate about the culture of remembrance.

 

The focus is on a relaxed exchange, stimulating discussions, informative conversations and a cultural start to the evening. So let’s lean back, turn on the synapses, sharpen our tongues and activate the earpiece – “Shell we talk?”

 

/ in German
/ more information about the exhibition here
/ further information on the communication format here

/ more information about the project “Monumental Shadows” here
/ more information about Studio Various & Gould Berlin here
/ more information about Colonial Neighbors (SAVVY Contemporary) here

 

According to the new ordinance, the so-called 3-G rule (vaccinated, recovered, tested) applies to participation in this event. This must be proven in a suitable form.
Fig .: Bismarck in paper form is fetched from the base | Photo: Raisa M. Galofre Cortés

“Shell we talk?” mit Various & Gould

Donnerstag 30.9.2021
Anfang: 18.00

Eintritt frei

Am 30.9.2021 treffen wir in der Ausstellung “Enthüllt. Berlin und seine Denkmäler” Gould von Various & Gould Berlin. Dabei stellt Gould das Projekt “Monumental Shadows – Koloniales Erbe neu denken” vor, das in Zusammenarbeit mit Colonial Neighbours (SAVVY Contemporary) entstanden ist.

“Monumental Shadows – Koloniales Erbe neu denken” ist eine künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der kolonialen Geschichte und der aktuellen Erinnerungskultur Deutschlands. Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit von Various & Gould und Colonial Neighbours (SAVVY Contemporary)  Es wird mit mehreren Künstler*innen von August bis Ende Oktober 2021 in Berlin durchgeführt. Mittels urbaner Interventionen und Performances z. B. am Berliner Bismarck-Denkmal hinterfragt “Monumental Shadows”, welche Spuren und Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus es bis zum heutigen Tag gibt.

Ausgangspunkt ist die Erfahrung, dass der deutsche Kolonialismus im öffentlichen Diskurs häufig verharmlost wird. Er liegt somit für viele Menschen im Schatten und wirft gleichzeitig einen langen Schatten auf die Leben vieler.

Die in Berlin lebenden Künstler*innen Various & Gould arbeiten seit 2005 als Duo zusammen. Im Jahr 2010 haben beide ihr Studium an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee (KHB) abgeschlossen. Various & Gould sind Grenzgänger*innen auf verschiedenen Gebieten. Grundlage für ihre Zusammenarbeit sind Druckgrafik, Papiercollage und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum. Auf meist spielerische Weise nehmen sie sozialrelevante Themen in Angriff.

In Bezug auf die Verwirklichung dieses partizipativen Projektes im öffentlichen Raum, wollen wir über Absichten, Probleme und Erfahrungen sprechen. Zusammen mit unserer Moderatorin Laura Seidel möchten wir in unseren Ausstellungsräumen das Thema der Denkmalstürze diskutieren. Vor dem Hintergrund Ergänzung neuer Denkmäler in unserer Dauerausstellung würden wir außerdem gern die Debatte um Erinnerungskultur erneut aufgreifen.

 

Im Fokus stehen dabei ein lockerer Austausch, anregende Diskussionen, informative Gespräche sowie ein kultureller Start in den Feierabend. Lehnen wir uns also zurück, schalten wir die Synapsen ein, spitzen wir die Zungen und aktivieren wir die Hörmuschel – “Shell we talk”?

 

/ weitere Infos zur Ausstellung hier
/ weitere Infos zum Vermittlungsformat hier

/ weitere Infos zum Projekt “Monumental Shadows” hier
/ weitere Infos zu Studio Various & Gould Berlin hier
/ weitere Infos zu Colonial Neighbours (SAVVY Contemporary) hier

 

Für die Teilnahme an dieser Veranstaltung gilt gemäß der neuen Verordnung die sog. 3-G-Regel (geimpft, genesen, getestet). Dies ist in geeigneter Form nachzuweisen.
Abb.:  Bismarck in Papierform wird vom Sockel geholt| Foto: Raisa M. Galofre Cortés