*CANCELLED* SPAM – Spandau macht Alte Musik | Continuum »Schlossplatz eins« – Prussia’s Finest Music

Italienische Höfe

Beginning: Thu 21.5.2020 - 20.00
Ending: Thu 21.5.2020 - 22.00

Price 24,- € / reduced 20,- €

Elina Albach, harpsichord | Johanna Bartz, traverso

Frederick the Great (1712-1786) composed his first symphony as a young crown prince in 1738; he had been an avid player of the “flûte traversière” for quite some time, much to the annoyance of his tyrannical father. Nevertheless, the future elector and Prussian king built up his court orchestra, gathering the best musicians around to play music with him and give him instruction. Enjoy an intimate chamber music evening with music by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788), Franz Benda (1709-1786), and Johann Philipp Kirnberger (1721-1783).