The Great War in Small Format – Graphic Art and Medal Art about World War I
20 October 2017 – 21 January 2018
Opening: Thursday 19 October, 7 p.m.

With its incredible terror World War I has not only shattered politics and society in their foundations, but the graphic art as well. Artists were immediate witnesses to the events. Because of their intimate character especially small-scale graphic and medal art addressed the gruesome events in a rather drastic kind. More than in big-scale paintings they inhere something spontaneous, partly something subersive.
World War I was nevertheless a war of imaginations in word and design. Besides the official propaganda in leaflets there also has been artistic graphics, about which this exhibition gives an insight. While at the beginning of the war many works were still spurred by euphoria, soon skepticism, shock, accusation and sorrow pulled in. In 1918 for many people a whole world, a whole worldview collapsed.
The works out of the portfolio of the LETTER-foundation Cologne are presented in thematic groups, while very famous artists like Otto Dix, George Grosz, Max Slevogt, Max Pechstein and Ludwig Meidner stand besides today rather unknown artists on purpose. This especially concerns those artists who never had the chance of a regular artistic career due to their early death in the war.
The exhibition “The Great War in Small Format” has been assembled and curated by Dr, Bernd Ernsting out of the tremendously extensive portfolio of the LETTER-foundation Cologne. After stations in the Bavarian Army Museum Ingolstadt, the Middle Rhine Museum Koblenz and the Museum of the City of Worms the exhibition will leave Zitadelle Berlin in 2018 and move on to the Ernst-Barlach-Foundation Güstrow.

Melchior Grossek „Kampf“, 1923 (Quelle: Letter Stiftung Köln)

Der Große Krieg im Kleinformat – Graphik- und Medaillenkunst zum Ersten Weltkrieg
Dauer: 20. Oktober 2017 – 21. Januar 2018
Eröffnung: Donnerstag 19.10., 19.00 Uhr

Der Erste Weltkrieg hat mit seinen ungeheuren Schrecken nicht nur Politik und Gesellschaft, sondern auch die bildende Kunst in den Grundfesten erschüttert. Künstler waren unmittelbare Zeugen der Ereignisse. Besonders in der kleinformatigen Graphik und Medaillenkunst wurden aufgrund ihres intimen Charakters die grauenhaften Ereignisse in bisweilen drastischer Weise thematisiert. Mehr als der großformatigen Malerei haftet ihnen etwas Spontanes, teilweise Subversives an.
Der Erste Weltkrieg war nicht zuletzt ein Krieg der Vorstellungen in Wort und Bild. Neben der offiziellen Propaganda in Flugblättern tritt 1914 auch die Künstlergraphik, um die es hier geht. Zu Beginn des Krieges häufig noch von Euphorie beflügelt, zogen bald Skepsis, Erschütterung, Anklage und Trauer in die Kunstwerke ein. 1918 brach für viele eine ganze Welt, ein ganzes Weltbild zusammen.
Die Werke aus dem Bestand von LETTER Stiftung Köln werden in thematischen Gruppen präsentiert, wobei bewusst sehr bekannte Künstler wie Otto Dix, George Grosz, Max Slevogt, Max Pechstein und Ludwig Meidner neben heute weitgehend unbekannten stehen. Das betrifft oft solche Künstler, die durch den vorzeitigen Tod im Krieg nie eine Chance auf eine reguläre Künstlerlaufbahn hatten.
Die Ausstellung Der Große Krieg im Kleinformat wurde aus dem enorm reichhaltigen Bestand der Kölner LETTER Stiftung von Dr. Bernd Ernsting zusammengestellt und kuratiert. Nach Stationen im Bayerischen Armeemuseum Ingolstadt, Mittelrhein-Museum Koblenz und dem Museum der Stadt Worms wird die Ausstellung 2018 von der Zitadelle weiter in die Ernst-Barlach-Stiftung Güstrow gehen.

Melchior Grossek „Kampf“, 1923 (Quelle: Letter Stiftung Köln)